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18 Important Social Media Metrics (And How to Track Them)

Tracking social media metrics comes down to using real data to evaluate the impact of your social presence on the outcome of marketing campaigns and, ultimately, revenue. It helps you see how effective your social media marketing efforts are and where you can make improvements.

While social media metrics are important, it can be difficult to figure out which metrics really matter for your business.

That’s why we’ve compiled a list of 18 important metrics and how to track them. These metrics give you insights into your brand visibility, audience behavior, and conversions, and will help you make more data-driven marketing decisions in the future.

Let’s dive in.

Breaking down the social media funnel

Before outlining the most meaningful social media metrics, let’s break down the social media funnel to see where each metric belongs.

A typical social media funnel is divided into four major customer journey stages:

Each stage of the social media funnel has its own set of metrics and KPIs that show you the impact of social media marketing on business growth.

Social media metrics: Awareness

These metrics reflect your existing and potential audience.

Brand awareness

Brand Awareness is the attention your business gets across all social media platforms per reporting period.

Brand awareness can be indicated through a variety of metrics, including impressions, shares, mentions, and links. Reporting periods also differ. Some last a week, others last a month, and it can last up to a quarter.

How to track it

Audience growth rate

Audience growth rate refers to how quickly your brand gains (or loses) followers per social media channel.

As more people sign up to social media platforms, brands will also gain more followers.

But you shouldn’t ask yourself, “How many new followers did we gain last month?” Instead, think about how fast you gained last month’s followers, and if you gained them faster than your competitors.

How to track it

Say your brand’s Facebook account has 10,000 followers in June (end of Q2). For Q2, you need to measure your audience growth rate from July 1st to September 31st. If by September 31st, you have 12,546 followers, then your audience growth rate for Q3 is 25.46% (approx.)

Note: You can track your competitors’ AGC the same way.

Post reach

Post reach refers to the number of people who have seen your post since it went live (even if they see it multiple times).

For instance,if you have 1,000 followers and each of them sees your post three times, your reach is still only 1,000.

This metric is directly affected by the timing (i.e. when your audience is online) and your content (i.e. the kind of posts your audience loves).

How to track it

Note: Facebook has a “When Your Fans Are Online” feature that will show you the best time to post. Posting at those times can increase your reach.

Potential reach

Potential reach is the number of people who have the opportunity to see a post during a period of time.

For instance, if one of your followers shared your post with their network, between 2-5% of their followers will also make up the post’s potential reach.

This metric is important to measure because you, as a social marketer, should always try to increase your audience. Knowing your potential reach will help you measure your progress.

How to track it

Your potential reach is about 2-5% of your actual reach.

Social share of voice

Social share of voice (SSoV) measures how many people mentioned your brand on social media compared to your competitors.

There are two kinds of SSoVs:

Basically, SSoV measures how visible and relevant your brand is in the market. Knowing this metric will help you decide whether you should update your social media strategy or not.

How to track it

Note: To make this process easier, use social media analytics tools.

Social media metrics: Engagement

These metrics show how people interact with your content.

Applause rate

Applause rate denotes the number of approval actions (or “applause”) a given post gets relative to your total number of followers. These actions include likes, favorites, thumbs-ups, etc.

When a follower applauds your post, they’re acknowledging its value to them. Knowing the percentage of people who find value in your content can help you know what sort of posts you should make.

How to track it

Note: Track approval actions with a social media impact tool to ease the process.

Average engagement rate

Average engagement rate is the percentage of your entire audience that has interacted with your content during a reporting period.

This metric is important because higher engagement means that your audience loves your content. To know for sure, track the engagement rate of each of your posts. If the rate is high, the actual number of likes, shares, and comments is irrelevant.

How to track it

Note: The benchmark for this metric is different on every social platform.

For example, Facebook and Twitter have lower engagement rates (0.5% to 1%). But Instagram has relatively high engagement rates (3% to 6%).

Amplification rate

Amplification Rate is the number of shares you get on average for each post. The term was coined by Avinash Kaushik, the Digital marketing evangelist at Google, who defined it as “the rate at which your followers take your content and share it through their networks.”

The higher your amplification rate, the more willing your audience is to associate themselves with your business.

Depending on the social networks you use, you might base your amplification rate on metrics like Twitter retweets, LinkedIn shares, Pinterest repins, etc.

How to track it

Virality rate

Virality rate is the ratio of people who shared your post to the number of impressions the post had during a reporting period.

Virality rate goes deeper than just likes and shares. For instance, a post that gets 30,000 likes may only get 0.2%, while another post that receives 5,000 likes gets 8.94% virality. In this case, the latter post is actually doing better than the former one.

How to track it

Social media metrics: Conversion

These metrics show how effective your social engagement is.

Conversion rate

Conversion rate refers to the ratio of users who take a desired action on a page after clicking on a link in your post to the page’s total visitors.

These actions can be to download gated content, subscribe to a newsletter, register for a webinar, etc.

A high conversion rate indicates that your audience finds your content valuable. On social media, it means that your post matched the offer you made.

How to track it

Note: Traffic and conversion rates are mutually exclusive. The conversion rate of a post can be high even if traffic is low.

Click-through rate

Click-through rate (CTR) refers to how often our audience clicks on the CTA link in a post.

This metric should not be confused with engagement actions like likes and comments. A CTR is specifically tied to a link that takes people to a different page than the social platform they’re on.

Tracking your CTR often will give you invaluable insights into how compelling and relevant your offer is to your audience. A low CTR means that your audience isn’t resonating with your offers and vice versa.

How to track it

Note: Track your clicks and impressions within the same reporting period.

Cost-per-click (CPC)

Cost-per-click (CPC) is the amount of money you pay per individual click on your sponsored post.

When advertising on social networks like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or LinkedIn, don’t focus on the total amount you spent. Instead, pay attention to your CPC. It will help you determine if your investment is yielding good returns or not.

How to track it

For instance, if you spend $2,000 and get four conversions, your CPC is $500. If your profit is $350, you can safely say that your investment is not yielding good ROI.

Note: You can also get your CPC from your platform’s Ad Manager. Make sure to check the Ad Manager often.

Cost per thousand impressions (CPM)

Cost per thousand impressions (CPM) is the amount of money you pay every time a thousand people scroll past your sponsored post.

As opposed to a CPC campaign, a CPM post doesn’t really drive action. It only creates views and impressions. So if you want to split test your content, CPM is a faster and cheaper way to do it.

How to track it

You can also track your CPM in your platform’s Ad Manager. Check it often and ensure that you don’t leave your CPM campaigns unattended for a long period of time.

Social media conversion rate

Social media conversion rate is the percentage of total conversions that you get from social media.

Tracking this metric will give you valuable insights into how effective each post is in your social media campaign. It tells you how well your offer(s) resonates with your target audience.

How to track it

Conversation rate

Conversation rate refers to the ratio of comments per social media post to the number of total followers you have.

This metric was also coined by Google’s Avinash Kaushik, and it helps you track comments with context. I mean, getting an average of 15 comments per post is exceptional if you have only 150 followers.

Knowing your conversation rate will help you understand whether your social media posts are interesting enough to spark a conversion, which is the core of any social network.

How to track it

Social media metrics: Social customer service

These metrics show you what your active customers feel about your business.

Customer testimonials

Customer testimonials refer to any positive or negative comment, review, assessment, or endorsement a customer gives about your brand.

If your customers are happy with your brand and offer(s), they’ll be more likely to share their positive experience with others.

A constant stream of genuine testimonials on social media will build credibility and trust amongst your followers, while boosting your brand’s visibility.

Here are some ways to get more customer testimonials:

Customer satisfaction score (CSAT)

Customer satisfaction (CSAT) is a metric that tells you how happy customers are with your product or service.

Typically, the CSat score is determined by one simple question: How would you rate your overall satisfaction with this product or service?

You ask customers to rate their satisfaction on a scale of 1 to 10 or sentimentally (Poor, Fair, Good, Great, Excellent). This scale is clear and easy to answer, especially on social media.

How to track it

Net promoter score

Net promoter score (NPS) is a metric that measures how loyal your customers are to your brand.

Unlike CSat, you can use NPS to predict how customers will engage with your product in the future. All you need to do is ask this question: How likely are you to recommend our [brand/product/service] to a friend?

Then, you ask customers to answer the question on a scale of 0 to 10. Based on their answers, you group the respondents into one of three categories:

Detractors: 0 – 6

Passives: 7 – 8

Promoters: 9 – 10

The unique thing about NPS is that it measures customer satisfaction and future engagement, which is why it is so valuable for businesses of all sizes.

How to track it

While vanity metrics are easily accessible, they don’t really impact your business growth. The metrics outlined above, however, let you measure data that actually influences the results of your marketing efforts.

You’ll have to work harder to get these numbers, but you’ll get more returns than the effort you put in.

Social media metric reporting tool

Hootsuite Analytics

With Hootsuite Analytics, you can track your social media performance across all platforms from one interactive dashboard. You can see what works well for your business and what you can improve on.

Learn more about Hootsuite Analytics here.